I’ve Got Plenty to Be Thankful For

Much like Bing Crosby, I’ve got plenty to be thankful for.  This is only the 2nd time that I’ve ever had to spend Thanksgiving alone (But, it’s ok, we had our feast on Tuesday).  Mom worked 1:00-10:00 tonight and my sister 10am-7:00.  However, the other time was harder.  I was in Washington DC and completely alone and depressed (I spent all day at the Air&Space Museum) whereas this year I could at least drive to Wal*Mart and Walgreens to see them.  So after making the chicken patties, beans and French fries for dinner, I started thinking about the things I am thankful for:

  1. First for my family- I’m so happy that we are as close as we are
  2. Most importantly for friends- Each one is unique and has created memories and experiences that can’t be duplicated with someone else.  I love you all for touching my life.  Thanks for sticking with me through thick and thin.
  3. “The third best thing”- Laughter
  4. Technology.  As someone who is infatuated with the past, I never thought this would make the list, but when you sit and think about it, so much of daily activities revolve around technology.
  5.  My imagination
  6. I love my hometown.  Living in Milwaukee I am grateful to be on a Great Lake.  It seems that everything I need is within a reasonable distance… the beach, the forest, farmland, mountains (Cristal Ridge)… the pyramids at Aztalan
  7. Similarly I am thankful for the changing seasons and the beauty I can capture with my camera.
  8. I’m thankful enough to be able to vacation in so many wonderful places thanks to the transcontinental railroad.
  9. For Music.. which is essential to power my life each day  (Like Elton John says “Guess there are times when we all need to share the little things…. and it’s times like this when we all need to hear the radio cuz from the lips of some old singer people share the troubles we already know”)  
  10. I’m thankful to be able to experience my favorite music in concert as well as for the talent bestowed upon the musicians
  11. The courage to do things I never thought possible
  12. The strength to be comfortable alone; my independence has given me the chance to do the extraordinary and taken me to some amazing places.
  13. My house.  I’ve waited a long time for this one.
  14. I’m thankful to have a job that provides me with adequate money and insurance
  15. I’m thankful for the protection provided by the military, Bill of Rights, Constitution, etc.
  16. For my health and welfare and that of my family and friends.
  17. I’m also thankful for being so emotional (even though it gets tiring sometimes).  My emotions allow me to know compassion and love and to recognize my strengths and weaknesses
  18. My collections of media, books, Presidential Figures, stuffed animals, sweaters, submarines, snowmen, scarecrows.  All tangible things that can instantly make me happy.
  19. Farms- barns, cornfields, cows, rolls of hay
  20. Museums, Historians and Archivists
  21. Good food, even when it’s fattening
8 thoughts on “I’ve Got Plenty to Be Thankful For

  1. But a smiling visitant here to share the love (:, btw outstanding design and style. “Everything should be made as simple as possible, but not one bit simpler.” by Albert Einstein.

    Like

Leave a Reply

