30 Days of Creativity

This is a reblog of sorts… a friend of a friend of a blog of a blog etc.  Sometimes I don’t like to do that because it makes me feel like I can’t come up with anything original, but I just couldn’t pass this one up because it has the one thing I love~~ photography.

The blog ‘All The Soft Places’  posted a challenge for 30 Days of Creativity.   Since I have not the ability to start a project and complete it, I thought taking on the photography challenge would be more my pace by only having to take one photo a day.  It’s by far easier than pulling out a bunch of art supplies from the basement.  A day by day list of suggestions completed though photography can be found here.  30 Days of Creativity for a preview of what is to come.

My results will be reveled in a series of 6 posts of 5 crafting days each.  Since this is my post and thereby my rules, I’m trying not to make myself work ahead of schedule (although this will probably not work around day 15 as I anticipate being out of commission for several days then).  Anything within the 5 days between postings is fair game for taking pictures on the list that week.  I am also not limiting myself to one picture each, to one location, or all that everything has to be artsy.

 
Day 1: Capture an interesting texture   June 6, 2012

Two different textures in this picture. 1.) The coarse, manilla colored pine shavings that line the cage bottom of Elixr’s cage and 2.) his smooth, scaley skin.

 
 

The texture in here (although not zoomed in to detail) is the clumpy, dry ground mixed with tough Wisconsin clay which has been turned over enough to start planting peppers.

 
 
Day 2: Capture something from a different angle  June 7, 2012

Today I sat down at my computer to enter yesterday’s photo in the draft of my post.  I sat at my desk and tilted my head back and looked up towards the ceiling in deep thought about what to say.  When I opened up my eyes, the first thing I saw was Mick my mink hanging over the edge of my bed– looking down at me, and me up at him.  The first thing I thought of, rather than yesterday’s assignment was that I usually don’t look at Mick from below, but rather straight on when he’s in my arms.  I reached for my camera and snapped a few pictures.

Mick ! My mink from Manitowoc

 

This was a day where I knocked out two assignments in one.  While documenting my new route home, I took a picture of my sister taking a picture in the rear-veiew mirrow of my truck.

This house had created a life sized look-a-like of the Tinman from the Wizard of Oz and had him out front holding their mailbox.

 

Another farm picture

Different angle, my feet dangling off the back end of the flat bed being towed by the tractor on the way to where we were planting cabbage.

 
Day 3: Find something with primary colours  June 8, 2012 

Sitting out front on the porch with my mom after work. Here are the primary colors in our pinwheel.

 
 
Day 4: Capture something sensual  June 9, 2012
 

This new route sure turned out to be good for taking pictures

Some might find a mannequin in an old cast iron tub set out on the sidewalk covered in bubble wrap sensual.

 
 
Day 5: Take a new route/explore a new area and document it  June 10, 2012
 

See above mannequin and Tinman.  While coming home from the Hobby Lobby in Racine, my sister and I detoured in many directions.

This was paited on the side wall of a building outside of the downtown proper in Racine. Thought it was a fitting picture with all they hype about the new Avengers movie.

We found an old roadside graveyard with a dozen or so headstones. This one was mashed into the ground. I found it ironic that the hand and finger were pointing up, but it was lying flat.

 

This was great fun this week.  I can’t wait to get started on the next batch of photo assignments !!

———> Week 2 Assignments

 

7 thoughts on “30 Days of Creativity

  1. Holy crap, I LOVE THIS!! Your shots are so unique and beautiful! 🙂 I’m so happy that you are doing the challenge with me as well (Hi, C.B.!) It’s way more fun than doing it solo 😀 Your commentary about the mannequin in the bathtub made me laugh out loud, and so did the mink shot haha. Looking forward to seeing the rest of your photo adventures xo.

    Like

Leave a Reply

