Mail Myself To You

In sharing this batch of lyrics, I do so because it instantly perks me up when I’m feeling lonely and longing to be with all of my far-away friends; especially those in Russia whom I think of most during this song.  This song “Mail Myself To You” written by folk legend Woody Guthrie (as I came to know it by recorded by his son Arlo) seems to me to be outside the normal realm of Woody Guthrie standards such as “This Land Is Your Land,” “Ramblin’ Round,” or “Dust Bowl Blues” for example.  So I was surprised to find that Woody wrote it and not Arlo.   In a previous post, “Besides Beethoven-The 4 other unlikely people I have pictures of decorating my bedroom wall” I expressed how Arlo Guthrie is one of my all time favorite singer/songwriter/performers, so you can expect to most likely see more of his songs appear here in the future.

Lyrically it’s a short song with instrumentals and repeats. First is a cartoon video from You Tube with the version of Arlo singing. It’s a cute video with two mice and it captures the general visualizations this song evokes.  I posted the lyrics from Woody Guthrie’s web site below in case you wanted to read along with the video.

Mail Myself To You

Words and Music by Woody Guthrie (1962)

I’m a-gonna wrap myself in paper,
I’m gonna daub myself with glue,
Stick some stamps on top of my head;
I’m gonna mail myself to you.

I’m a gonna tie me up in a red string,
I’m gonna tie blue ribbons too,
I’m a-gonna climb up in my mail box;
I’m gonna mail myself to you.

When you see me in your mail box,
Cut the string and let me out;
Wash the glue off my fingers,
Stick some bubble gum in my mouth.

Take me out of my wrapping paper,
Wash the stamps off my head;
Pour me full of ice cream sodies,
Put me in my nice warm bed.

Leave a Reply

