The Art of Melting Crayons

It’s no secret that I think Pinterest is one the neatest websites that has been developed in a long time.   No longer do I have to struggle with  a favorite/bookmark list so long that I can never find what I’m looking for.  Besides, I’m a visual person and I like to see exactly what I’m looking for.  There are so many different ways to develop boards, that I don’t think I’ve reached my limit yet. 

I spend more time on there than Facebook these days. That being said, rrecently, I’ve been spending hours and hours looking at other users’ pins for craft ideas.  I think if I’m going to pin it, I should try each craft, and when I do, I’ll share the results here. 

The Craft Idea- Sample Picture I found on Pinterest and Patterned My Work Off Of- The Website Didn’t Provide Any Directions, So Below Is How I Went About Re-Creating This.

The first one I attempted involves melting crayons with a hair dryer.  The color on this one is what caught my eye. It had a tyedyed feel and looked somewhat easy so I thought I would attempt it.

The cost of supplies for this project totaled $3.50.  I bought two boxes of the non-Crayola brand crayons (24 count) and a regular poster board.  The adhesive I had in my craft supplies. If I were to do this project again I would make a few changes.  Especially if this was to be something I intended to keep, I would buy the stronger, puffy poster board because it is more rigid when you’re trying to pick it up with all the crayons on it. I would also try it with the Crayola brand and buy more crayons because 48 is not enough to make a heart as the sample shows.  That could easily boost the cost of this project over $10.00.

Sort your crayons into the color scheme you desire. I stuck with the basic rainbow colors. I discarded the white, peach, gray, and black colors.
Next, choose what shape you want to create- heart, circle, square, peace sign, etc.

It’s helpful to use another object for a guide. Begin to glue the crayons to the poster board- spacing them at your own discretion and based on how many you have

I think personal preference comes in here. The original sample doesn’t show it, but it might be worth it to remove the paper from the crayons if you intend on melting them completely away. However, this begs the question will the glue stick the crayon to the poster board without the paper?

Take your project outside and make sure you have enough space to work.  The splatter of the crayons can get out of hand.  I got a little bit of red on the sidewalk and it doesn’t come off with the garden hose.

Set your hair dryer on high and aim your hairdryer on the tips of the crayons.
I had my paper lying flat on the sidewalk and this may have contributed to the reasons my results differ from the original.

We were supposed to have temperatures near 100 degrees the past two days and I wanted to see if this project would “Do Itself”. It didn’t. The crayons got a little sweaty as you can see in this picture, but never actually melted and ran because of the air temperature and radiant heat from the sidewalk.

For a person who has patience, I think the canvas should be hug on something vertical.  Then heat the section of crayons that are pointing down to one at a time so they drip downwards.  The puddles of crayons dry fairly quickly.  Then flip the canvas to the next side and begin melting again.

This is what I mean when I said it might be a good idea to peel off the crayon paper if you intend to melt them into nothingness.
At this point, I was frustrated in the process and just wanted to melt, melt, melt !

The final result. Some abstract artists might find it interesting.

In all, I’d give the project a C+. It seems like a good way to burn out the motor on your hair dryer.  My honest opinion of this is that it’s not as easy as it looks.  It takes much more skill to produce a tasteful result than just pointing a hair dryer.  You have to work the flow of wax and direct it where you want it to go.  I’m not even sure it would be fun for a young child despite being safe enough.  I’d still beg you to try it for yourself and tell me how it worked for you.

Even though it didn’t produce the desired results, I will still keep the original “fun version” on my Pinterest craft board here http://pinterest.com/4leafclover1343/

5 thoughts on “The Art of Melting Crayons

  1. One of my students did this project, but in a slightly different way. She put the crayons in a picture frame (that had a little depth) and pressed them down with the glass. She put it outside and let the heat of the sun do the rest. It turned out pretty cool!

    I think once you trim the edges and add a frame to yours, the colors will really pop and become a fantastic work of art.

    Like

    • Covering up the mess in the center might help too. The frame idea sounds like a better idea because then they are held in place without glue and the glass takes the place of splatter. Watch out dollar store ! Here I come to raid your frame stock !

      Like

Leave a Reply

