Repurposing Toe Socks

This craft project was a long time in the making.

A long distance friend of mine on facebook had one of these guys in a photo album, and not more than a minute after viewing, I knew I had to make one.  Of course that was at least a year ago.  (My motivation can easily be distracted by moving and talking pictures on the tv)

So as I embarked on discovering all kinds of new crafts to try, thanks to Pinterest, I threw this one in there as well.  I pinned my favorite picture on my craft board.

Unfortunately, I didn’t photograph this project step by step because I really didn’t know what I was doing at the time, but let me explain it as best as I can.  It made me feel like I was creating my very own Muppet !

Creating Mr. Gaga the Little Toe Sock Monster

1.  Supplies

Toe Socks, various color thread, polyester fiber fill, scissors, embellishments for facial features any clothes or accessories

2. Preparation

I picked out a new pair of toe socks because I love wearing my own too much to get rid of any.  I choose the longer socks that compare to knee highs.  I needed a little extra so I chose a similar pattern, but with different colors for the arms and legs.

3.  Head

Decide how big you want the head to be and cut both pairs at an equal length above the toes.  Above you can see I measured in 5 stripes.

Stuff with Polyester Fiber Fill to desired consistency.

Hand stitch the two socks together.

To cover up a poorly stitched seam in the back, I took a scrap piece of the sock and sewed three vertical lines to attach it to the back of the head, then I cut between the stripes up to the seam to create a mohawk-like hair style.

This was actually the 2nd last step for me

4.  Body

Take one of the socks and sew the top part (where you begin to put your foot into a regular sock) under the head.  Don’t sew it flat ! Open it up a bit to give him a fat enough neck to support that wide load head!

Suff again with poly fill

5.  Arms & Legs

This is left up to your creativity.

My goal was not to make the hand toes look too much like the head toes.  I started by choosing a different sock and cut a strip from top to toes that divided the sock after the 2nd toe.

This gives the hands 3 fingers and the feet 2 toes.

Turn inside out and sew the open seam closed

Stuff

For the Arms: most arms you will notice come out of the area near the neck, not the sides of the body like small children’s school artwork show.  Make sure that his arms aren’t going to stick out parallel to his head.  To do so, do not over stuff the end area that will become the shoulder.  Leave that area empty and the arms should hang at the sides.

For the Legs: In order to close the bottom of the body and attach the legs, I first matched up one side of the bottom and one of the leg and stitched half of the leg to it.  (Sorry, I really wish I had a picture of it)  If you were looking at him from the front, the open area of the legs would be in the back.  Then take the butt end of the monster and sew it flat to the backs of the legs.  This makes them look like they are coming from the inside of the animal and not sitting on top.

6.  Face

I’ve always held the theory that once you give your animal a face, it will start to hurt the next time you impale him with a needle and thread so make this your last step.

I used a small pony tail holder for his lips.  My sister (the indented recipient of this guy) chose the eyes.  In stead of buttons we found some dollar store, dress up, flower style rings.  We broke off the ring part and hot-glued the flowers on as eyes.

pucker up !

Depending of if you are going to make this a chew toy for an animal, you may want to rethink hard plastic facial features.  My animal wouldn’t hold up against a dog, a cat might like it (think of stuffing him with some Cat nip, or that ruffly plastic paper  or bells for noise).  I think our snake will love slithering through the toe areas, but mostly, this guy – Mr. Gaga will sit on my sister’s bed.

2 thoughts on “Repurposing Toe Socks

Leave a Reply

