Anywhere But Here

My absolute favorite TV show of all time is M*A*S*H.  It originally aired on network TV before I was even born, so I can honestly say that it’s been a part of my whole entire life.  I would watch it when I was a little kid when I really didn’t even have any idea what the show was really about.

This summer,  I had an idea to create something that is uniquely signifies the show and is easily recognizable — the sign posts that point to all the hometown places of each cast member.  The Smithsonian Museum of American History has the prop from the TV show.  It was on display at its temporary location in the Smithsonian Air and Space Museum in 2006-2007.  I used this as my model because the internet has several different variations of it.

 

My signpost is scaled down to about 3 feet tall.

Materials Needed

  • Wood Glue
  • Box Cutter or exacto knife
  • Lightweight wood
  • Drill
  • Sharpie Marker or Paint
  • Sandpaper

The length of my signs were cut the about 10 inches long.  This way I was able to get four signs per piece of wood.  Next I referred to the photograph and labeled each board with the city name.

Trace out the shape of the sign and then cut and sand

I did what I could to replicate the same script that was originally painted on the sign.  I used a sharpie marker for better control instead of painting, but be ware that the sharpie marker does spread once it starts seeping into the wood.

 

Next, assemble the base and pole.  I made the base into a cross with an extra block for feet to raise it up and make it more stable.

Measure the width of the pole and find a comparable drill bit to bore a hole in the base.

Apply some wood glue and stick the pole in.

Finally, glue the signs in order to the pole, angling them when necessary.

A step that I haven’t done yet, but you can do to add character is to distress the wood to give it a look like it really has been standing outside in Korean weather for years.

One thought on “Anywhere But Here

Leave a Reply

