The Remarkable Millard Fillmore: The Unbelievable Life of a Forgotten President

Maggie Turner's book recommendations, liked quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists (read shelf)

The Remarkable Millard Fillmore: The Unbelievable Life of a Forgotten President (Kindle Edition)

by George Pendle

My rating 1 of 5 stars

I admit that when I purchased this book, I may not have read all the reviews. Millard Fillmore sitting on top of a unicorn made me suspicious, but not enough to push me away. I thought of it as an attention grabber to get more readers interested.

Leave it to a British author to try and write about American History and this is what you get !

In the first few pages Pendle seems to say some wonderful things about Fillmore and I felt that someone else finally felt the way that I do about the 13th President. It wasn’t until later, I realized he was mocking Fillmore and me for that matter. I had a hard time picturing Fillmore’s great great grandfather being a swashbuckling pirate, nor his grandfather being of the kind to sit in the forest and eat linens. I even read past the part where Fillmore’s journals were found in a village in Northern Uganda where they worshiped them as sacred objects. It was once I got to the chapter that began with Millard’s life and the author said that the family couldn’t afford to give him a middle name, I put the book down and began to wonder if I had been taken in. Believe me, I have my receipt and I want my money back!!

I realize now the book is a joke, and I’m past feeling humiliated by it. I find some creativity in Pendle’s writing and for that only credit is due. I can’t beg Half Priced Books to buy it from me for a penny because I had downloaded the Kindle version so instead of deleting it (the e-version of book burning) I’ll keep it around for those nights when I have insomnia.

I try to be a reasonable Millard Fillmore fan. I’m sure the man himself would be able to take this book with a grain of salt and laugh it off. I understand he doesn’t rank high on the list of great presidents, but if you read biographies by Robert Scarry or W.L. Barre (published in 1856 when first-hand information was still available) you would see Fillmore in a different light. Millard Fillmore was chosen as Vice President even though he didn’t want the job. He was a dedicated civil servant and realized that if the people wanted him, believed in him, and chose him as vice-president then he was willing to step up and do the job for the people. That type of giving of one’s life, unselfishly to the public has been lost to labor’s history, as is Fillmore’s true reputation.

View all my reviews      Maggie Turner's book recommendations, liked quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists (read shelf)

Leave a Reply

