Black Out Poetry- Lonely Solitude

My friend has been posting a lot of  “black out poetry” and it looked a lot of fun to create. (you can see her work here) It was so inspiring and I had always wanted to try it.  I think what I like about it is that I don’t necessarily have to use my own words. (I’m not a big fan of poetry because it’s hard for me to understand)  In black out poetry I am choosing the words that I want to keep, but not having to think them up.  It’s like a word search where you highlight only the words you want in your poem and black out the rest.  I don’t know for certain if I am following the rules for this style, but this is what I came up with.  

The book I chose was To The Last Man by Zane Grey.  I selected this book online.  You can access the book for free here via the Gutenberg Project http://www.gutenberg.org/files/2070/2070-h/2070-h.htm  I haven’t read it before. I dragged the cursor down randomly and ended up on Chapter X and probably highlighted a page or so.  Initially I wasn’t sure if I had selected the right author and book because he is such a poetic author as it is with his descriptive style of writing.  But at the time the thought moved me to try black out poetry, he was the only author I could think of.  

If this works out to be popular enough I may use it more on the ‘Make It Your Own Monday’ posts.  After all, I did take someone else’s work and make it my own. 

This is what I came up with.  I used the first two words to title it : Lonely Solitude 

black out poetry

2 thoughts on “Black Out Poetry- Lonely Solitude

Leave a Reply

