Custom made T-shirt Design Using Bleach

I found this idea on Pinterest and thought it was something that I could re-create.  It’s a T-shirt where a picture was created by using bleach around a pattern.  I pinned it on my craft board, but this shirt was actually for sale on Etsy so I had to guess on the instructions.  I felt it had a more definite result than tye-dyeing.

 

Supplies

  • T-Shirt
  • Bleach
  • A spray bottle
  • Stencil design
  • Plastic to protect the surface you are working on
  • Gloves to protect your hands
  • Goggles to protect your eyes
  • A washing machine to finish your design

 

The design I wanted to use was the old Amtrak logo because they have since changed it to a new design and it is hard to find the vintage look.

I went on the computer and enlarged the logo to the chest size of my T-shirt and then went ahead and cut it out, using an exacto knife. I then placed it on the front of my shirt and taped it down. 

I wanted to make sure that the shirt was completely flat.  I used a large piece of cardboard to insert inside the shirt, and I also covered it with a plastic bag so that the bleach wouldn’t soak through to the back side. 

Next I wanted to make sure that I didn’t spray any bleach on parts of the shirt that didn’t require it so I taped another bag around my design to cover the other parts of the shirt.

Next I got the bleach treatment ready by pouring a bit of liquid bleach into a spray bottle.  I also bought a bleach pen to make sure I got clear lines. 

I took the shirt outside to the back yard and did my spraying on the pavement. I saturated the T-shirt and the stencil.  And let it dry outside in the sun.  Next I put it in the washing machine and dryer to set it.

IMG_2877

Looking back at the design I saw online, I can see where I went wrong by reversing the negative and positive spaces on the shirt with my design.  If I try again in the future I’ll know to do it the opposite way. Where they used an outline and sprayed the bleach around it, I sprayed the bleach into my outline.  That’s where it came out looking like a sweat stain.  But at least I got the logo nice and straight with the help of the bleach pen.  I failed on this project and ended up using the shirt to wash my truck with. 

IMG_2878

One thought on “Custom made T-shirt Design Using Bleach

Leave a Reply

