Area 51 Drive Thru

One place I never had on my agenda for vacation destinations last week, was Area 51.  It didn’t even come to mind when I thought of Nevada, so when we headed North out of Las Vegas to spend the weekend in the mountains at a friend’s house….. that’s exactly where I thought we were headed… to a friends house.  It wasn’t until I saw the GPS and noticed we were on Extraterrestrial Highway !

IMG_2223

IMG_2233

IMG_2230

 

It was shortly after then when I looked up and I SAW AN ALIEN !!!!!

 

 

IMG_2204 a

 

 

IMG_2208

It was a kooky little store inside a metal shed that sold a lot of T-shirt with UFOs and sci-fi related items.  Probably in a metal building so as to keep the aliens from sucking people out and into their space ship. 

Just beyond that we reached the small town of Rachel, Nevada

IMG_2228

 

IMG_2237

The history of Rachel is that it was a town that grew up around a tungsten mine, which closed in 1988.  The town of 500 quickly dwindled to around 50 today. It became a hot bed of activity for UFOs and quickly became a destination for fans and believers.  Area 51 and the Air Force’s top secret base.  We think this was the road to Area 51, but it’s obviously not going to be marked. 

IMG_2218

 

We made a loop around a ranch in the main area of Rachel before continuing on our journey.   In my defense, I usually take pictures and look at them later.  I didn’t see that this sign said photography prohibited.

IMG_2241


 It was exciting at the time, but I became a big baby chicken when we considered driving up the road to Area 51 the next day on the way home.  I really got freaked out and didn’t want to go.  I was afraid that if were were stopped by the feds, they might be having a bad day and not just let us turn around. So for now this was exciting enough for me.  

 

This is a funky video that I had seen several years ago, but still like to watch.  I know that guy was confusing Air Force 1 with Area 51.  That’s what makes the video even more hilarious. 

One thought on “Area 51 Drive Thru

Leave a Reply

